Op dit moment kun je 2.615.940 producten vergelijken





Digitaal luisterboek

Oorspronkelijke releasedatum

04 maart 2021


Owen Walker








Rechten Biografieën & Waargebeurd Economie & Financiën Poëzie, Bloemlezingen & Letterkunde Managementboeken Ondernemers & Bedrijven Financien & Boekhouding Columns & Bundels Privaatrecht Staats- & Bestuursrecht Strategie Maatschappelijk verantwoord ondernemen Ondernemerschap Financien Financieel recht Constitutionele & Bestuurlijke wetgeving Pensioenen Pensioenen & Particuliere vergoeding Administratieve rechtsmacht & Openbaar bestuur Staat & Openbare eigendom Boeken

Boek ebook of luisterboek


Studieboek of algemeen

Algemene boeken

Laatste prijs update: november 30, 2023 8:35 pm Meer informatie
Uw recensie toevoegen

Brought to you by Penguin.

The proud owner of a sprawling £14m estate in the Cotswolds, boasting a stable of eventing horses, a fleet of supercars and neighbouring the royal family, Neil Woodford was the most celebrated and successful British investor of his generation.

He spent years beating the market; betting against the dot com bubble in the 1990s and the banks before the financial crash in 2008, making blockbuster returns for his investors and earning himself a reputation of ’the man who made Middle England rich’. As famous for his fleet of fast cars and ostentatious mansions, he was the rockstar fund manager that had the lifestyle to match.

But, in 2019, after a stream of poorly-judged investments, Woodford’s asset management company collapsed, trapping hundreds of thousands of rainy-day savers in his flagship fund and hanging £3.6bn in the balance.

In Built on a Lie, Financial Times reporter Owen Walker reveals the disastrous failings of Woodford, the greed at the heart of his operation, the flaws of an industry in thrall to its star performers and the dangers of limited regulation. With exclusive access to Woodford’s inner circle, Walker will reveal the full, jaw-dropping story of Europe’s biggest investment scandal in a decade.

© Owen Walker 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021